UKC

twin ropes and breaking krabs

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Leeds Ben 06 Jan 2005
Recently I was climbing on two 9 mm (or they may have been 8.5) ropes. As my route went straight up the crag i clipped both ropes into the gear, figuring that there was no problem with drag and it was better ro have 2 ropes to catch me than 1. My friend on the next route over persuaded me to clip only one rope at a time (alternating them from one placement to the next). According to her karabiners are not designed to take 2 ropes at once and it is more dangerous as it lowers the strain they can take.
On this ocassion I bowed to her superior knolwledge but have since been told she might have been wrong. I've been climbing for a few years and never heard this before. Anyone know which is safer?
 IMA 06 Jan 2005
In reply to Leeds Ben: iv been told that apart from the 1st clip in to only clip with a single rope, dont understand why i should clip with both at the bottom though
 JDDD 06 Jan 2005
In reply to Leeds Ben: If in any way, you manage to break a krab, or a rope for that matter (both in reasonable nick) by just falling on it with double ropes or otherwise, I would be interested to hear about it. I really can't see what difference two ropes is going to make on a krab that was designed to take between 2 and 3 tonnes, especially as most "big" falls are less than 6m!
 GrahamD 06 Jan 2005
In reply to Leeds Ben:

Strictly speaking, two ropes in a modern light weight Krab is not ideal as only one of the ropes can sit correctly next to the spine of the krab. In practice, though, its a trade off of relative risks (one rope clipped versus two, different impact forces etc., speed of clipping.

What you shouldn't do is mix and match with some krabs double clipped and some not as this cause the ropes to stretch differently and to rub against each other.
 NIGBEE 06 Jan 2005
In reply to Leeds Ben: