UKC

Manchester Climbing Centre and route ratings

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Kurt Alden 24 May 2005
Hello all

I'm pretty new to climbing and have been to Manchester Climbing Centre probably around 10 times.

I've found that some of the ratings are pretty confusing - I can shoot up some 5's no problems but other 5's I find completely impossible. I was wondering what people who go there think of the ratings - it's a little tricky to progress if some 5's are easy yet others are just too hard to even get a foot off the ground.

We've been thinking about giving Rope Race in Marple a go - are the route settings better there? Anyone got any general thoughts about it?

Cheers
Ben
OP Anonymous 24 May 2005
In reply to Kurt Alden:

Don't worry about the ratings. Progressing isn't about being able to pick a grade a climb every route at that grade, it's about constantly testing yourself.

Also all walls, more than crags, have dodgy ratings, because there are fewer sequences to compensate for different physiques and abilities.

The other thing that beginners rarely consider when critising ratings is that becuase they are inexperienced there are often gaps in ability. Don't blame the ratings if you find something you can't do, instead work out why you can't do it and improve. The rating MAY be wrong, but so what? If you want to improve, indoor ratings are nothing but the vaguest of guides, even to very good climbers.
 Andy Farnell 24 May 2005
In reply to Kurt Alden: Try going to Awesome Walls instead of Rope Race, as it's far better.

Andy F
Iain Ridgway 24 May 2005
In reply to Kurt Alden: Same on rock though really, I have done some HVS's, yet have had my arse kicked by more than a few severes.
 JdotP 25 May 2005
In reply to Kurt Alden: