UKC

The colour of climbing..shades of white

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Jonno 02 Apr 2001
I've been climbing now for about 15 years and in that time I've never come across a black climber or indeed a climber from one of the ethnic minorities that enrich our culture in so many other spheres.Indeed,talking to a veteran climber with over 50 years experience on the crag face,he himself confirmed that this too was his experience of climbing. Look through any climbing magazine or internet climbing site and the nearest you will see to a dark skin will be some young rock jock sporting a Californian tan.
Am I alone in thinking this is bizarre in the extreme ! Why do black and Asian people shun the wonderful world of mountaineering or is it a case of the mountaineering world shunning them ?
Climbing has always been essentially a middle class sport and I would say that it is more so today than it was say in the 50's or 60's. The big establishment clubs such as the CC or the Fell & Rock are not exactly accessible to working class climbers never mind those from ethnic minorities. Centres such as Plas y Brenin and Glenmore lodge are essentially catering for the well heeled middle classes. So,apart from tasting the great outdoors through the education outdoor centres,how are black and asian kids going to be encouraged to go climbing.
A bit more pro-activity from the dinosaurs in the climbing establishment would be a start.
Danie 02 Apr 2001
Trevor Messiah, Ed February....
andy r 02 Apr 2001
good points
...but...
climbing, middle class?? maybe in the early days but i cannot see how "some of the scruffy ruffians who grace our crags" could be described as middle class!

andy r
Jonno 02 Apr 2001
Danie,
Ed February is a South African who as far as I know lives in South Africa.I confess,I don't know who Trevor Messiah is ?
kate 02 Apr 2001
Yep, I live in a big, multi-cultural city. And
one of the things I first noticed at the main