UKC

Fear of falling

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Foxache 17 Nov 2006
Is there anybody on here who managed to overcome a fear of falling*, or maybe even a fear of heights, through rock climbing?

I'm just starting out again and haven't done anything other than graded scrambling since I was a kid, but I've always had a strong fear of falling. I've found that things have got easier the more I climb but wondered if it would ever go away completely.
 Fiend 17 Nov 2006
In reply to Altitude Addict:

Fear of falling and hitting the ground....no. That's one fear that shouldn't be overcome, it's there for a reason.

Fear of falling on well-protected leads onto a rope....yes. It's often a phantom fear (assuming one has the technical knowledge, and good comptence), and is worth overcoming if one wants to progress.

Squirrel Bill 17 Nov 2006
In reply to Fiend: Have to agree, you need that fear of falling. Or else you'll act like a tw*t! Perhaps you experience vertigo, different from fear of falling.
OP Foxache 17 Nov 2006
In reply to Squirrel Bill:

I don't think I have vertigo. I've happily abseiled off a 100 ft viaduct knowing that I was roped up and couldn't fall any faster than I wanted to.

It's not the height that scares me, it's the thought that I might fall. They may sound one and the same but for some people, just the thought of looing over the edge of a big drop would be enough to terrify them whether or not they were roped up.
 IanJackson 17 Nov 2006
In reply to Altitude Addict: maybe your sensable then
 mick1jones 17 Nov 2006
In reply to Altitude Addict: I'm the same but I've not yet fallen onto gear I've placed myself. Problem is I don't want to 'cause I'm a self confessed woos. However next season I'm gonna rig a fall close to the ground to see what it feels like. I don't mind falling (lying through his teeth) if I trust my gear.
 IanJackson 17 Nov 2006