UKC

Dyno technique

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Ropeboy 13 Nov 2002
Went out bouldering this afternoon at Stanage with a mate who likes to dyno his way through problems.

Now what I discovered is that I'm not very good at it. I'm not tall so I tend to avoid them and I seem to favour dyno-ing with my right whereas he could land them with either hand.

In fact I wasn't allowed to tick one dyno problem when I managed it staticly and I was made to do it with a dyno.

Can you dyno with either hand? Do you favour latching with one hand in particular?

I always thought to much dyno-ing was bad for the shoulders in the long term.

J
 Dominion 13 Nov 2002
In reply to Ropeboy:

(Bear in mind I'm a novice, and don't really know what I'm talking about)

I tend to dyno to latch with my right hand, because I am very right-handed - but I am trying to work on this - even stupid little things like doing juggling tricks the opposite way round to improve left-handed co-ordination.

And exercise on a rowing machine, with separate grips for each hand, rather than one grip shared, should make your weaker arm have to keep up with your stronger arm. If you do weights, then similar. Use a separate dumb-bell for each hand.

Did a small dyno at Brimham last weekend, but can't remember which hand I grabbed with, 'cos I was too busy making sure I kept my glasses on when I clipped a corner of them on the rock-face... oops.. (All I know was I heard mutters behind me of "nice dyno", making me very nervous 'cos there were lots of more experienced climber watching me...) However, dunno if I'd have gone for it with the left, so it was probably the right.

The Lemming 13 Nov 2002
In reply to Ropeboy:

In my oppinion shock-loading your joints while dinoing has to hurt.