UKC

Writing a trip report

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 GarethSL 15 Oct 2008
I've been asked to write a trip report from my trip to the alps, to be posted on a website for my university climbing club.

Thing is, I've never written one before...

What do I include?

Ta
 JDDD 15 Oct 2008
In reply to Gaz lord: Errrr - what you did, where you went, how it felt. Not rocket science really.
OP GarethSL 15 Oct 2008
In reply to Jon Dittman: well the thing is there was a group of thirty of us, I cant write for all of them so do I just say what i did or find out from them what they did?
 Frank4short 15 Oct 2008
In reply to Gaz lord: I'd suggest just mentioning you & the people immediately associated with you's experiences. maybe give an honourable mention to any more notable going ons by others in the group.
Soren Lorenson 15 Oct 2008
In reply to Gaz lord:
Must include
Who shagged who.
Who was the arsehole that pissed in the hostel dorm.
Who was crying with the drink because fit birds don't dig engineering undergrads.
Who had the biggest negative delta from wall grade to outside.
Fashion disasters.
Worst chat up line.

In the day what happened on tour stayed on tour, but the yoofs want it all on the net so spill big time.
 climbingrick 15 Oct 2008
In reply to Gaz lord:

i think it would all depend on who its for. ie official records H+S need to be very accurate and 'matter of fact' etc...
For your club web site however its going to be more of a review or summary.
approach it like you would any other story or essay,

start, middle and end, with clear links.

- include the build up to the event

- random bits that made you laugh.

- make it flow, as there’s nothing worse than 'then we did this and then we did that.....'

- get input from the others on the trip.

- write it with your target audience in mind, i should imagine its to get the freshers interested so think about that.