UKC

black diamond ice screw plastic karabiners

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Smart Climbing 08 Mar 2010
yesterday BOTH the plastic krabs I use to rack my ice screws failed, one getting stuck with the gate inwards and the other flipped to the outer side of the lip. Result - 2 ice screws lost mid route. I wasnt doing anything unusual with them, they werent overloaded and unfortunately I didnt notice. I guess my twisting about knocked other gear onto them or something.

So if anyone was on IceFall Gully, Black Laddders after us on sunday 7/3 and found a couple of short-mid screws, please let me know!!
Beck
 TobyA 08 Mar 2010
In reply to smartclimbing:
> and the other flipped to the outer side of the lip.

This happens all the time with the old school Charlet clips as well. Never had a problem with this method http://www.frozentime.se/climbing/iceclip.html and I've been using that sort of clip most winter weekends for about the last nine years.
 petestack 08 Mar 2010
In reply to smartclimbing:

Since you can also lose screws from them without any visual signs of 'failing', I've stopped using mine.
 gear boy 08 Mar 2010
In reply to smartclimbing: This happens sometimes, petzl ones do it too,

Tobys homemade Simond version works well, especially as you cant get simond in the uk easily at the momment
 Lamb 08 Mar 2010
In reply to Rebecca Williams: Same happened last weekend to climbing partner, fortunately the ice screw was retrieved, think they are pretty poor.
 Danzig 08 Mar 2010
In reply to lamb: This happened to me, but luckily I was low down-I caught it in a chimmney and ripped it off. I replaced them with BD Ovals but still use the black rubber-thingy to attach it to the webbing, so it isn't bomb-proof, but better.
 3leggeddog 08 Mar 2010
In reply to Rebecca Williams:

I suspect the recent badmouthing of these devices on here is more due to misuse rather than failure.