UKC

Shipping kit to New Zealand

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 MikeR 10 Aug 2010
Hi there,

In a few months time I will be heading out to New Zealand on a two year working holiday visa (woo!). As I don't want to travel around with all my climbing kit my plan is to just head out with harness and rock shoes and ship the rest of it out. By the time it has arrived I will have hopefully bought a van to store it all in.

Can anyone recommend any shipping companys? I've had some experience shipping with Anglo Pacific before, shipping to Oz, and they took ages (about 4 months) to deliver, is this normal? The cheapest I've found so far is Seven Seas. Has anyone ever used them?

Also if anyone has any general tips or advice it would be much appreciated, and I will be cleaning everything until it's gleeming before shipping it.

Cheers,

Mike
 Tom Last 10 Aug 2010
In reply to MikeR:
I will be cleaning everything until it's gleeming before shipping it.
>

Good plan, I'm sure we heard a (probably apocryphal) story, about someone being allowed to bring some sort of weapon in, but getting pulled up for his muddy boots.

As for shipping. I bought all my stuff out with me, then posted it back. NZ international post is very cheap and from memory I posted back a small rack, axes, crampons, winter clothes, plastic boots, and a bunch of books for about £40 and they all arrived safetly before me. Of course that doesn't fit in with your plan of not carrying stuff around, but if you could take them out and find somewhere to store them for a while, this might be a cheaper option than shipping?

Which way are you flying back by the way? I went back by the States and for that reason my luggage allowance (both ways) was twice as much as would have been with a return - far more than I could ever have wanted to pack.

Cheers,
Tom
OP MikeR 10 Aug 2010
In reply to Southern Man: