UKC

Wood stove maintainance

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 GrahamD 10 May 2012
We've not long moved into a house with a really nice wood burner. I've never owned one before so I haven't a clue as to what sort of maintainance is required - specifically the flue. Any advice from the more experienced welcome.
 spider27 10 May 2012
In reply to GrahamD: I'm no expert but i've had one for a while. Make sure you have a good seal where the flue joins the stove and again where it goes up in to the chimney. Normally it's done by a liberal application of a sort of putty you can get from any hardware shop but it can crack and come off after a while.

Check the seal is intact around the door, normally rope or cord that can be replaced or glued back in place.

I have had mine for about ten years and tend to find that the more I use it the better it works. I think the key to these things is the chimney and if it has been set up properly you should be ok.
 two06 10 May 2012
In reply to GrahamD: The place that installed mine said sweep the chimney and clean out the inside once a year. They come out and do the lot in one visit.

It may be worth getting a sweep out to give you an opinion on the chimney.
 victorclimber 10 May 2012
In reply to GrahamD: one thing you have to be very careful about ,and which the folk who sell them dont often mention is the flue,if you just have an old brick flue and you burn certain types of wood in the stove ,you can get a build up of resin in the flue and the chimney stack,,when this gets hot and it gets red hot it can crack the brickwork,,I have seen cracks big enough to get your fingers in..this costs lots of money to put right ...
 gingerdave13 10 May 2012
In reply to GrahamD: it's probably also worth getting the flue swept or checked. As mine needs it once a year with moderate use over winter.