UKC

the compass that reversed

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 illkate 27 Oct 2001
Ages ago (March?) someone had a threadabout a compass mysteriosly changing polarity: it indicated due south as due north. There were varioustheories as to what could have caused it, one concerned shop anti-theft devices, but no clear answer was found.
I thought the anti-theft devices theory far-fetched, as I thought the fields they produced would be tiny.
Just read in New Scientist that they expose five year olds (whose heads are at the most vulnerable height) to twice the recommended max level.
So is this what b*ggered the compass?
And, as an aside, has anyone thought about the effect on unborn babies?
Sp 27 Oct 2001
In reply to illkate: As a geology student, I have been taught that every few million years the poles reverse, according to scientists who study paleomagnetism. It probably wasn't this though.
Ladyboy 27 Oct 2001
In reply to illkate:The original question was mine. An this explains everything, my little-un was about 4-5 at the time. Also like a magnet or the pole she believes everything revolves around her or should be attracted to her or indeed repelled. She climbed the Ben with me on Thursday in the pouring rain and as a precaution I laid a string trail to find the way of the summit. AS you can see this was a complete success and Id recommend this method to all parents of this age. Leave your compass at home strings much better. (guess who is child minding this weekend )
 Marc C 27 Oct 2001
In reply to illkate: God bless you! For years, what I and several ex-friends had been attributing to my appalling map-reading/navigational skills (e.g. as a scoutmaster I've lost several cub scout groups in quicksand, over precipices) was really persistent reversals of polarity. So Dave, Geoff, and Thumper (the red setter)...if you can hear me from beyond the grave (?)...it wasn't my fault ! Ah, the guilt has lifted !
 JR 27 Oct 2001
In reply to Sp: