UKC

An idiots guide to politics

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
OK, so I guess there are some clever folks on here so ill throw this one out. Im no political scientist and I sometimes get quite confused with some of the terminology. Its especially confusing at this time of year when we see lots of documentaries about the war and Hitler.

So we have left and right and their extreme tendencies, communism and fascism.

My basic understanding is that left is more social i.e. greater state intervention and that communism, in simple terms is a sustem of the state being all powerful and that wealth should be shared - higher taxes in principle.

The opposite is right where in moderate countries like the UK this mean less state intervention and a reduced state with people taking more personal responsibility - lower taxes in principle. So where does fascism and far right politics come in and what is its stated aim? Why is this 'right'.

And then we have liberalism.

So, lets keep this simple folks - is this broadly correct and if not, what are the inaccuracies?
In reply to TheDrunkenBakers: **system**
 Ramblin dave 12 Nov 2012
In reply to TheDrunkenBakers:
This might be of some help:
http://www.politicalcompass.org/analysis2
 Jon Stewart 12 Nov 2012
In reply to Ramblin dave:

You got there first. This might also help:

http://www.informationisbeautiful.net/blog-html/leftvright_world.html
In reply to Jon Stewart:
> (In reply to Ramblin dave)
>
> You got there first. This might also help:
>
> http://www.informationisbeautiful.net/blog-html/leftvright_world.html

Both really interesting

thebrookster 12 Nov 2012
In reply to Jon Stewart:

Hmmm. I can go with most of it, however I don't agree with Labour being placed as a "Left" wing government. Used to be, but since New Labour came into being they have steadily moved across to the right.