UKC

where should a second tie into your belay when swinging leads?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 wjcdean 28 Dec 2012
morning all,
im relatively new to trad climbing and was wondering what your advice would be for securing a second once they reach the belay station? So far ive only done easy climbs that have lovely big ledges to belay from so i usually just tie them off as we exchange gear. obviously this is no good for harder routes where you might have a hanging belay, so what do you do in this situation?

i get that if you've used a cordalette they can just pop a crab through the mainpoint and clove hitch on, but this isnt possible if you've tied in with the rope.

any advice would be appreciated, thanks
Will
 jimtitt 28 Dec 2012
In reply to wjcdean:
They just clip into the most convenient piece of gear and tie them off as usual.
 AlanLittle 28 Dec 2012
In reply to wjcdean:

I'll try not to be too critical/sarcastic here since you say you're new, and asking for advice is not a bad thing. But there is a very noticeable tendency - here and in other online climbing forums - to over-analyse and over-complicate very unimportant questions about very minimal risks, and my initial reaction when I saw the thread title was that this would be one of those.

Deep breath, constructive ....

> i get that if you've used a cordalette they can just pop a crab through the mainpoint and clove hitch on

They can just do that to any point of the belay anyway. You say you're new to trad climbing it's unlikely that you'll be doing anything with fully hanging and/or dodgy belays for some time yet. Therefore your belay has two or three bomber points and is on some kind of a ledge. And these two or three bomber points are tied together in some way, even if only indirectly via your harness.