UKC

Books about hill-running

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JamesRoddie 13 Mar 2013
I recently finished "Feet in the Clouds" by Richard Askwith and really enjoyed it. I've been hill-running for about 18 months now and I'm very keen to read more about it - not necessarily books about training/technique but more along the lines of Feet in the Clouds.

Does anyone have any good recommendations? Most of the books I've seen seem to be about ultra-marathon running, which for me is still a long way away, so I'm more after books about hill-running in Scotland/the UK in general.

Thanks for any suggestions.
James
 Banned User 77 13 Mar 2013
In reply to JamesRoddie: Theres Boffs run wild?

There's also a collection of short stories on fell races somewhere, published in aid of MRT's.. I forget its name.

There's not too much, I like the Mudge Lennox book on ultimate races around the world..
 Curry 13 Mar 2013
In reply to JamesRoddie:

Mike Cudahy's book Wild Trails to Far Horizons is really good. He writes about his Pennine Way run (270 miles in under three days!!) his running career and motivations, as well as his other experiences in ultra running, West Highland Way, Coast to Coast etc.

Fascinating book, and an inspirational man.
 Curry 13 Mar 2013
In reply to Curry:

Just realised you're more after books about shorter stuff! I've ordered a copy of Scottish Trail Running by Susie Allison, not so much Feet in the Clouds, more a book listing and describing 70 trail routes in Scotland.

Al Evans 13 Mar 2013
In reply to JamesRoddie: Stud Marks on the Summit was a classic, there is an interesting article about the sad demise of its author here
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2045915/Body-legendary-fell-runner-...
 Al Evans 13 Mar 2013
In reply to Al Evans: Sadly I used to own a copy of the aforsaid book but somebody borrowed it and never returned it
 Al Evans 13 Mar 2013