UKC

Morphine

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mypyrex 01 Apr 2013
When used medicinally, ie for cancer pain relief, does anyone know if it causes hallucinations?
 Dauphin 01 Apr 2013
In reply to mypyrex:

it can, it is pretty dependent on the individual patient sensitivity and dose. there are plenty of synthetic alternatives with less hallucinatory activity.

d
redsonja 01 Apr 2013
In reply to mypyrex: yes it did with my mam. is this about your SiL?
 Brownie 01 Apr 2013
In reply to mypyrex: Yes, did for me anyway for some weeks after 24rs use following an operation. Also for someone else I know. We both saw monsters under the bed upon wakening - like when I was a child.
 marsbar 01 Apr 2013
In reply to mypyrex: I'm not an expert, but I think it can, I remember someone I knew having it in A+E and it seemed sort of like they were sleep talking about things that weren't happening. I think its probably normal, and although upsetting for those around, probably quite pleasant for her to not be in pain.
 hms 01 Apr 2013
In reply to mypyrex: I had it after having an emergency caesarian, and it certainly caused me to hallucinate. It was a very scary & disconcerting experience - enough so that when I was carted off to hospital in screaming agony after damaging my back in a bouldering fall I would not have the morphine they offered me and made do with gas and air instead!
OP mypyrex 01 Apr 2013
In reply to heidi123:
> (In reply to mypyrex) yes it did with my mam. is this about your SiL?
Yes
 Coel Hellier 01 Apr 2013
In reply to mypyrex:

Yes, I've suffered hallucinations from morphine, after an operation. They were not nice. It may depend on dose and so on.
 Cameron94 01 Apr 2013
In reply to mypyrex: Not for me I was fine apart from the pain still making itself known!
 Dauphin 01 Apr 2013
In reply to Dauphin: