UKC

Aperture issue

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Antigua 14 Apr 2013
I've been using Aperture for a few years and have amassed a ton of photos that have been backed up. It now appears that the back-up photos are only reference photos. Although I can view images in Aperture I can't edit, process or export anything. Its possible in my ignorance that the originals have been deleted. I thought that being able to see them in my library was proof that I have them.
Do I have any options?
 The Lemming 14 Apr 2013
In reply to Antigua:

Is it possible to do a search for every single JPEG, or similar image format, on all your storage media?

I'm guessing that Apeture is an apple product which means that I don't know how an apple OS can do this but with Windows 7, I can put .JPEG into the search box and I will be shown every single JPEG that can be found,if they exist on my hard drives. Is this an option that you could try?

Antigua 14 Apr 2013
In reply to The Lemming:
One of the 'benefits' of Apple is that everything remains hidden to the user hence the apparent ease with which I appear to have deleted/overwritten my original photo's.

Aperture stores all of its data or photos in a database which Apple calls a vault hence a straight search for photos by name yields nothing. I've tried connecting to all Vaults but they only appear to contain references.
 Mike-W-99 14 Apr 2013
In reply to Antigua:
They are in a database but its basically a structured file system that you can browse.
If you locate you library in finder (mine is called iphoto library and is in /home/<myid>/Pictures/)

Rather than double clicking on it right click and select show package contents, the file structure will be revealed.

Hope this helps.
 The Lemming 14 Apr 2013
In reply to Antigua:
> (In reply to The Lemming)