UKC

Storage solution

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
I'll be visiting the UK in October/November. As a obsessive photographer, I will be hoping to shoot most days while there. The last couple of times I've been back I've used 4 x 16 gig SDHC cards, and reviewed and deleted duff shots, and got away with it.

Just upgraded my camera though, (now 5D mk3,) which obviously requires more storage. Also while there I'm hoping to do a landscape photography day course, and would want to ensure I keep the images shot them for reference.

What would you good people do in terms of storage for a six week trip?

Many thanks in advance.
 Richiehill 01 Jun 2013
In reply to stroppygob: Are you taking a laptop? If so, just stick a 1TB USB HDD into it and back up your camera to your HDD.
In reply to Richiehill: Nice thought! I'm not, though I may have access to enough computers at friends houses to make that a go.

Thank you.

Other suggestions still welcomed!.
In reply to stroppygob:

Is it possible to back up to an external hard drive from an ipad?
 Richiehill 02 Jun 2013
In reply to stroppygob: You'll probably have to keep it in the Apple Ecosystem and spend a fortune on a skydrive, but can't see why not. It'll also have to be linked to your copy of iTunes. If you'd have had an Android tablet it'd make the whole process so much easier! If you've set up iCould your iPad should have an ability to back itself up.

You could use Tumblr as a back up service. I believe they are offering 1TB storage for free. If you have internet access, just upload all your shots to this, then when you get home download them all again. They also promice not to reduce the quality of your shots.
Antigua 02 Jun 2013
In reply to stroppygob:
> (In reply to stroppygob)
>
> Is it possible to back up to an external hard drive from an ipad?
Yes

http://www.hypershop.com/HyperDrive-s/119.htm
KevinD 02 Jun 2013
In reply to stroppygob: