UKC

Lightroom (5), advice, please

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Solaris 03 Aug 2013
I *think* what I need is some advice on import presets for Lightroom 5, but let me explain.

I've recently got back from Iceland and bought Lightroom 5 (for a Mac) to develop the RAW images I shot on my Canon G10. As anyone who's been to Iceland will know, the light can be quite tricky and the colours bizarre (and sometimes hypereal - especially the greens).

This is where I'm having difficulties: the Lightroom RAW converter is automatically turning Iceland's stunning colours into leached out, warmed up, pale imitations of what's *really* (!) there, even when the images are displayed in the filmstrip in the Libary module before I've gone into the Develop module. I think the problem is with the automatic white balance settings that are being applied (ie when the white balance is "As Shot"), but I'm a Lightroom novice.

So, my question is: how can I prevent this happening? Surely I don't have to go into the Develop module and tweak every image manually. Any help help gratefully received.

(I thought of buying a grey card before going and setting the white balance of the camera while I was out there but this seemed like it would be a huge faff on what was a trek across the country rather than a photography trip. Now I'm not so sure!)
 John2 03 Aug 2013
In reply to Solaris: What you can do is to tweak one image in the Develop module, then go into the library module and select all of the photos that you want to synchronise then use the Sync Settings button to synchronise all of the parameters that you changed. This can be a big time saver.
In reply to Solaris:

It's not Lightroom but you'll have white balance set to auto on the camera.

I've an older version of LR (v2) and you can copy the settings from one shot to any number of others.