UKC

Taking a sickie

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Hillseeker 25 Oct 2013
I'm thinking of taking a sick day off work when I'm not actually sick!

Some background: I work as an order picker in a warehouse. This is a seasonal post until just after New Year in January. Orders are for a well known supermarket chain. It is a large concern with about 50 people working each shift. They appear to be very strict on discipline and absences.
My problem is that I want to go and see my girlfriend in Ireland for Halloween (its kind of an anniversary) but I would need to take the Thursday off when I am due to work.
How do you think employers would view this? (My days off that week are Friday, Saturday and Sunday). Do employers "know" when someone is trying to fool them? Trouble is I can't really afford to get sacked.
 Edradour 25 Oct 2013
In reply to toasted:

Can you not swap shifts with someone? Perhaps do a double shift the following week, or give up a day off the week before or after? That way you aren't risking anything, not doing something that you're obviously uncomfortable with and you won't lose out on the money.
OP Hillseeker 25 Oct 2013
In reply to Edradour:
Hmm, yeah, hadn't thought of that. Not sure how flexible they are. havn't really got any mates there either.
 3leggeddog 25 Oct 2013
In reply to toasted:

You genius, give out almost enough clues online to incriminate yourself. Go to work on Oct 31st (you deserve to suffer on account of your f*ckwittery) and keep your big trap shut next time.
 bradholmes 25 Oct 2013