UKC

Car/van to convert as microcamper

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 gingerwolf 11 Nov 2013
Hello all,

I'm currently looking for a van (I say van, I mean car with rear windows) such as a Citreon Berlingo, Renault Kangoo, Fiat Doblo, Peurgeot Partner or any other van with a car based chassis and rear seats and windows to use as a day-to-day car, but also for weekend trips away for multiple passengers cragging (therefore with the ability to sleep in the back.)

I'm aiming to build a structure that can be easily removed to keep the car functioning as a car 99% of the time

However, at the minute, I'm struggling with which of the vans to look for, second-hand wise, as I have no previous experience of these vehicles.
Also, I know that the Berlingo comes in many types and varieties, and a quick research on the web lead me to think the Berlingo Multispace HDI 2.0 was the best version to look for....?

Can anybody let me know which they think is the best vehicle for this, and any pitfalls related to that model to look out for secondhand, as once I have decided on what vehicle, I can start a bit more of a serious look for a purchase and price range, mileage, age etc!

Thank you in advance!
Tom
 Liam M 11 Nov 2013
In reply to gingerwolf: We went for a Berlingo and fitted one of these http://www.amdro.co.uk/jump.php . The Berlingo and Partner are essentially the same and the Kangoo and Dobio very similar.

The choice was simply due to there being more Berlingos around so there was more chance of finding a decent example. This was particularly the case as we wanted a petrol one (we'd found warnings about the fuel filter on diesels if used for infrequent and shorter journeys) and they were much less common.

We've not had any problems with it so far.
 Richard Baynes 11 Nov 2013