UKC

'Has' or 'have'

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 phja 02 Dec 2013
Having an absolute blank, my sentence is;

My University studies HAS given me many of the crucial skills required for this role.

or

My University studies HAVE given me many of the crucial skills required for this role.

I'm leaning towards have but I can't convince myself either way...please help
 wynaptomos 02 Dec 2013
In reply to phja:

studies is a plural so definitely 'have'
 BigBrother 02 Dec 2013
In reply to phja:
Shouldn't it be 'haven't'?
johnj 02 Dec 2013
In reply to phja:

or

My University studies gave me many of the crucial skills required for this role.
 rallymania 02 Dec 2013
In reply to phja:

my studies have given

the subject i studied has given

is what i'd have thought... however i can't spell very well so i might not be the right person to answer
 David Alcock 02 Dec 2013
In reply to phja: Have. 'Studies' is the plural subject.
 drolex 02 Dec 2013
In reply to phja:

If you are a cat or if you have studied at a feline university, you should use 'haz'
In reply to BigBrother:

> Shouldn't it be 'haven't'?

I Like!
 RomTheBear 02 Dec 2013
In reply to BigBrother:

Like !
In reply to phja:

Remove the word "university" to get your answer.

ALC
OP phja 02 Dec 2013
In reply to wynaptomos:

Thanks everyone...'have' it is
 nniff 02 Dec 2013
In reply to phja:

Too many words, too wishy-washy:

No giving about it - you worked hard for them (or maybe not...). Crucial is a big word - does your experience match it? Perhaps this instead, with a sense of ownerhip of your studies:

'I developed the most important skills for this role at my University'
 Fraser 02 Dec 2013
In reply to nniff:

'I developed the most important skills for this role at University'

Brass Nipples 02 Dec 2013
In reply to phja:

Through UKC I developed the required sentences to apply for this role.
 splat2million 02 Dec 2013
In reply to nniff: