UKC

Caring and being a carer

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Blizzard 06 Mar 2014
Have you ever been a carer for someone?

How did you find it, was it difficult?

If so, how did you cope with the situations?
 Timmd 06 Mar 2014
In reply to Blizzard:

I believe there is practical/emotional support available for carers, but I've no experience of being one.
 elsewhere 06 Mar 2014
In reply to Blizzard:
The carer may need a break - respite care for the person being cared for may help the carer cope.

http://www.nhs.uk/CarersDirect/yourself/timeoff/Pages/Accessingrespitecare....
 AlisonSmiles 06 Mar 2014
In reply to Blizzard:

It was difficult, but everything going on around me made me feel as though there was no choice. Having said that, I would no doubt have chosen to do it anyway through love.

It's hard to explain what the difficulties were. Emotional ones watching someone you love struggle, lose an element of their dignity, their independence. Logistical ones, juggling multiple things that had to be done, trying to get out to buy milk and bread while managing visits from medical staff, relatives etc. Lack of self care, no time to eat, shower, brush teeth, just relentless duty because when someone can do virtually nothing for themselves the amount of care they require is of a scale you can't imagine. I think in two months I lost two stone. The NHS takes care of the patient but not the carer. I was juggling work at the same time for some time. The responsibility - I became the person who was forced into taking 100% of the decisions, collaboration no longer seemed possible with a deterioration in physical health leading to the patient's feeling of helplessness in not just physical ways. I was only a carer for 9 months. It was also surreally expensive, lots of home accessories, remote door opening, stools, chairs, shower seats, extra rails around the house, wheelchair hire. But I was only a carer for 9 months.