UKC

Building your own wall.... Would you recommend it?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Fobbit169 26 Mar 2014
Hey guys,

I've recently moved down towards Salisbury and I have not been able to find any decent walls in the local area. This has lead me to consider building a wall of my own in a garage I have access to.

I saw the article put on UKC a couple of days ago and while it is very informative on the wider subject. I was really wondering if it is something that a complete novice would be able to do with some general guidance? Would the project be to complex. The last time I did any kind of carpentry was at school.

Has anyone in a situation similar to mine built one was it easy or nightmare?

Dave
 LastBoyScout 26 Mar 2014
In reply to Fobbit169:
It's as easy or as hard as you want to make it.

Buy some 18mm plywood sheets, screw them to the wall with suitable fixings and screw holds onto that. I wouldn't be a fan of drilling a vast number of holes for the holds directly into the garage walls.

Worth getting some sort of matting for the floor.

Friends of mine have built walls in garages, lofts and up the side of houses - it's far from rocket science.
Post edited at 17:57
 David Bennett 26 Mar 2014
In reply to Fobbit169: