UKC

Increasing confidence in the top ropes for a 7yr old

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 RichG 19 Apr 2014
I'm a climbing instructor at my local wall and recently one of the kids has just lost all confidence in the safety of the climbing wall.

At one point he was perfectly happy to shoot up anything you stood him in front of but now he seems terrified as soon as he gets more than two meters off the ground.

Any advice on improving his confidence would be appreciated or even stories of similar situations.

Thanks
 Yanis Nayu 20 Apr 2014
In reply to RichG:

It's quite hard I think. Try getting him to climb 2 metres, then lower off, and build up from there. You could also try having someone climbing on another rope alongside, coaxing him and reassuring him.

My daughter was the same; she'd be up the wall like a rat up a teflon drainpipe, then next time she wouldn't want to leave the ground. The worst thing is when they get about 8 metres up and won't move!
 David Coley 20 Apr 2014
In reply to RichG:
Stop top roping, and just boulder?

Meaning: do stuff that he enjoys so he connects climbing with fun, not stress. Return to top roping in a year's time.

Post edited at 11:46
 keepguessing 20 Apr 2014
In reply to RichG:

at the gym i go to one of the instructors had a similar problem he got them to climb s high as they where confident then they leaned back and bounce o the rope a bit, he then did a demonstration where he went of and "fell" and was caught by the rope. and if all else fails hang you're car off the end of the rope then they will see just how safe they really are.
OP RichG 20 Apr 2014
In reply to Submit to Gravity:

We've been basically doing that, just trying to get him a little higher each time. It seems like he's just going up so that we'll stop nagging him rather than actually wanting to climb though.

Apparantly his sister told him that ropes break all the time and that he was "lucky to be alive after climbing".