UKC

Abseiling Advice!!!!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Joel Perkin 11 Jun 2014
I'm very new to climbing and was wondering if you kind boys and girls could give me some sound advice. What's harder abseiling right or left handed? Any advice would be appreciated
bust3r 11 Jun 2014
In reply to Joel Perkin:

walking down is the preferred option majority of the time.
In reply to Joel Perkin:

If you're right-handed, you'll want to hold the 'dead' rope below the descendeur with your right hand as the controlling hand, and your left hand will lightly hold the ropes in front of you. And vice versa.
In reply to Joel Perkin:

PS, but it actually makes extremely little difference.
 jimtitt 11 Jun 2014
In reply to Joel Perkin:

With a plate or an 8 both hands below the device. Traditional abseiling whichever you have more control so for most people right handed. With a Grigri most people use the left hand on the lever and the right on the rope, it´s designed for right handed people.
 dagibbs 11 Jun 2014
In reply to Joel Perkin:

Um... whichever is harder for you? I usually abseil with an ATC, and mostly run the rope down over my right hip. But sometimes I run it down between my legs, and sometimes down over my left hip. It depends on what is more convenient for starting, and which had I may want free for pushing/maneuvering my body around an edge/overhang/tree/obstruction. Or for grabbing draw/gear on the way down. And, whether the ab is straight down, or whether it drifts right or left.

Certain devices, e.g. a Grigri, may have a handedness -- though they may not be a common abseil device.
 Jonny2vests 11 Jun 2014
In reply to Joel Perkin:

> What's harder abseiling right or left handed? Any advice would be appreciated

Neither is harder. Both hands should go below unless you use a device that has a release like a grigri.
 Jonny2vests 11 Jun 2014
In reply to Gordon Stainforth: