UKC

Attitudes to differences of opinion on UKC.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 NigeR 23 Jul 2014
Firstly, I'm new to UKC, so if any of this has been discussed before, accept my apologies. Also, if I've posted it in the wrong section, then apologies again.

Secondly, I haven't been out climbing for over 25 years - though I want to start again, hence joining UKC - so I am slightly out of touch here.

I've been reading many of the threads, and it's nice to see that some things haven't changed - grade arguments, what constitutes an onsight, bolts, Three Pebble Slab etc.

But what I've noticed most, is the level of aggression and vitriol when there's a difference of opinion on something.

Debate, disagreement, arguments, barracking have always been a healthy and often highly entertaining part of climbing as I recall, but there was usually humour and warmth underpinning things, and at the end of the day, I don't recall it ever being taken too seriously.

So are the 'discussions' on UKC reflective of modern day climbing attitudes, or is it just typical of an internet forum, where because you aren't face to face, you can behave in a different, more provocative manner, than you would in person?

seankenny 23 Jul 2014
In reply to NigeR:

You're nice now. Give it a few months on here and you won't be. You'll look back at this post and wonder at your naivety.
 The New NickB 23 Jul 2014
In reply to NigeR:

UKC is actually pretty tame compared to a lot of forums. It has a broad user base, so attracts its share of difficult personalities, but is generally pretty friendly. The 3PS thing is a bit of an in joke.
 d_b 23 Jul 2014
In reply to seankenny:

Or just learn not to post. I suspect most of the likeable people just lurk.
OP NigeR 23 Jul 2014
In reply to The New NickB: