UKC

starting again

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
crax 09 Aug 2014
I used to climb, twenty years ago, which is pretty much the age of my gear but of that, later.

I'd like to do some again, in a strictly limited fashion, aiming no higher than vd, or severe, grades which require the amount of effort I'm willing to put in.

My motivation, apart from thinking I'd enjoy it, is to introduce lead climbing to my two boys, both teenagers, both heavily into bouldering and both far better than I ever was, good enough to compete at a uk open level and finish with a middling place. Neither though, gets lead climbing and I think that's because of the rather neutered indoor environment everyone starts in these days.

My conundrum, apart from the cost of replacing my gear, is refreshing my skills. I'm self taught. Joined a club at Uni and learned from others and whilst I retain a lot, the details have gone and I'm rusty. Setting up a belay would see me fiddling about and scratching my head. I could re-learn, i'm sure but how. Most of my friends no longer climb and I'm conscious I want to pass on a positive experience to my kids. A simple course seems best but most are aimed as intros to outdoor rock and don't appeal. I need a simple refresher and then be left to find my own way, that was always the appeal of climbing.

Then there's the gear bit. I want to take both on simple one or two pitch climbs. My first thought is two single ropes. The second tied to the first climber to bring up and clipped to any gear which traverses. Double ropes for beginners on easy trad climbs seems overkill.

Your thoughts are much appreciated?
 wbo 09 Aug 2014
In reply to crax: my thoughts sadly, and as a father who takes his children climbing is that they'll find v-diffsi interesting for approx 0,0000001 seconds.

If they're as good as bouldering as you say then get a 60m rope, some modern quickdraws and go sport climbing. They can take you trad climbing later