UKC

Biology (?) identification help

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 skog 02 Dec 2014
Hi,

Can anyone tell me what these were?

http://www.ootnaboot.scot/scrapbook/20141129Blobs.jpg

They were on a small ledge about 3m up a sea cliff in NW Scotland, well above the high tide level. They looked biological to me.

They were a few mm across and free-rolling rather than rooted in the sand; there were a few larger ones nearby (up to about 1cm) which were more flattened, almost dish-like.

The variation in sizes made me think they were not eggs, but I can't be sure.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
Rickster 02 Dec 2014
In reply to skog:
I'm no expert on what I think they might be as I'm a zoologist at heart.

I'm thinking they look like a fungus' fruiting body at a glance.

Eggs are very likely to be pretty much the same size so I'd almost rule the out.

Did you give them a gentle prod? Slimey, firm, soft?

There must be a mycologist checking your post soon, see what they say.
 Ron Walker 03 Dec 2014
In reply to skog:

Bladders of Bladder Wrack seaweed?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fucus_vesiculosus
In reply to Ron Walker:

Could be egg wrack
 wiwwim 03 Dec 2014
In reply to skog:

lichen?
 Banned User 77 03 Dec 2014
In reply to wiwwim:

Thats not a wrack.. I'd guess some sort of egg from an invert but not sure what.. They look similar to cuttlefish eggs, possibly washed up but they tend to be darker due to the ink..
OP skog 03 Dec 2014
In reply to skog:

Hmm. I don't think they were washed up - they were clustered on a small ledge just below the green wellies here:

http://www.ootnaboot.scot/scrapbook/20141129Achmelvich.jpg

with a few on a lower ledge to the left and a couple of larger, flatter ones a few cm higher up on the right. Only storm waves would ever reach there.

I pushed a couple around with a piece of grass. They weren't sticky, didn't deform with that kind of pressure, and had no root or obvious underside.