UKC

Take more photographs

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Al Evans 21 Dec 2014
I have been climbing for over 50 years, and probably have more photographs than most, but a recent run through of my 'memories' photos showed up huge gaps. Stuff like significant ascents (for me). I was sad that there were big gaps missing, some probably didn't seem significant at the time. So this is a memo 'take more pictures'. This is especially easy in the digital age, Don't leave those cameras in the rucsac, get them out and get snapping, make an effort now and you will be glad of them in your dotage.
 alan moore 21 Dec 2014
In reply to Al Evans:

Had a similar epiphany recently and wished there were more pictures to remember it all...
Also noticed that on the harder routes, gripped up and tense, the first thing to get left behind is the camera. I have a good collection of Classic Rock pics but most of the really memorable routes, and solo's, obviously, never produced any pictures at all.
Removed User 21 Dec 2014
In reply to Al Evans:

The problem is that I have always had this weird sense that if I take photos on a route I'm jinxing the outcome.
 caradoc 21 Dec 2014
In reply to Al Evans: Totally agree, I could have written your post. I made a conscious effort to take more shots a few years ago, as you say it's a bit more economical with digital photography. I climbed the Dent de Geant a few years ago, probably one of the most photogenic routes in the Alps and was horrified to discover my partner hadn't bothered to bring a camera. I could hardly believe it, but he shrugged his shoulders and said I could pass my shots on to him. I still find it incomprehensible how you can go to a place like that without a camera and risk getting no shots to record your ascent.

In reply to Al Evans: