UKC

Losing weight

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 gammarus 02 Jan 2015

Lots of newspaper articles right now about losing weight after Christmas. I'd like to know this: you must lose atoms and molecules of something when you lose weight - so what is it? Where does the weight loss go? Carbon dioxide?

Look forward to hearing from all those biochemists out there.

Happy New Year.
 The Potato 02 Jan 2015
In reply to gammarus:
I for one dont really understand what you mean
loosing weight involves using up glycogen stores or fat and protein which is broken down to glucose etc then converted to waste products, urea water co2 heat etc
very basic school biology really
Post edited at 21:03
Removed User 02 Jan 2015
In reply to gammarus:

Eat less, move around more = result.
OP gammarus 02 Jan 2015
In reply to Removed UserDeleted bagger:

True, but not my question
 ianstevens 02 Jan 2015
In reply to gammarus:

I'm not an expert on this, but I think you may have asked a question to which nobody (i.e. "science") knows the answer.
 Yanis Nayu 02 Jan 2015
In reply to gammarus:

You convert it to shit.
andymac 02 Jan 2015
In reply to Malcolm Tucker's Sweary Aunt:

> You convert it to shit.

And piss and sweat.And tears.

I power walked 18miles today ,and did all of the above.

Apart from having a crap and shedding tears.

1800 calories incinerated.not that I really needed to burn them.

Yanis Nayu 02 Jan 2015
In reply to andymac:

I'm glad we've solved the unanswerable question - high five!
 deepsoup 02 Jan 2015
In reply to ianstevens:
> I'm not an expert on this, but I think you may have asked a question to which nobody (i.e. "science") knows the answer.

My two minute google just now very much says otherwise, but it's hard to find a source dumbed-down enough for me to understand it. ;O)

So, since the OP hasn't hooked a biochemist yet, here's my take on it: