UKC

First climbs set the standard

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Two thoughts:
The first climb I ever did (Seconding) was a VS and that became my standard for many years with a slight move up to HVS/E1. 40 years on and VS is a standard I can now follow outdoors and aspire to lead on a good day.
My climbing mate of years ago reckoned that most people stayed at about the same standard of their first climb. He took his new girlfriend up an E2 for her first climb and she became a solid E1/2 leader.

What are your experiences of your first climb as a pointer to the standard at which you are now climbing.
 Rick Graham 28 Jan 2015
In reply to keith-ratcliffe:

In 1968 a school teacher top roped me and a few mates up a Diff at Scugdale.

Everything after that was self taught.

Have come on a bit in the last 47 year ( no replies please ) I don't think your formula stacks up for me.

One idea I read somewhere was that in older age you could maintain your( max ) grade at your prime by improvements in protection technology. Perhaps more appropriate to climbers peaking in say 1965 when better gear started to kick in.
 jim jones 28 Jan 2015
My experience is similar to the previous reply, inasmuch as my first route was a first ascent of a rambling mountain VD roped between two instructors on a course 40+ years ago. My average grade has normally been higher, and I'd say that was the same for most of my climbing friends.
Jim.
 Cake 28 Jan 2015

Tosh. Poppycock.

My first climb must have been about a v diff. The first lead that I genuinely struggled on must have been a severe. I have now led E4s and intent to lead extremes for a long time
 alan moore 28 Jan 2015
I'm sure everybody will have a different story. I never did any seconding so made a very pedestrian progress through the grades from moderate to mild extreme over about 4 years. Not sure what my grade is now; somewhere between moderate and mild extreme.
 adamkitson 28 Jan 2015