UKC

Is climbing in the UK only for the British?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 PPP 11 Feb 2015
That was a click bait - I know it is not!

I am studying at the uni right now, working part-time in several places and I see lots of foreigners everywhere. Students, lecturers, colleagues, shop assistants, waiters, etc. Sometimes you can see a wanderer in mountains with denim trousers and a large rucksack, probably a person visiting UK for short time. West Highland Way, when I've done it, was quite full of tourists, but that's an exception. However, there are very few foreigners at the climbing wall or at the crags or mountains.

Why is that? Some of my guesses.
Firstly, climbing is not popular in some countries. I am from Lithuania and I can easily answer to question what kind of climbing do we have back there. The highest hill is about 1000 feet high and we don't have crags, just few boulders. Our highest boulder/stone is this one: http://i.imgur.com/sEXhqV7.jpg . Bouldering becomes more popular over there, but I haven't been in Lithuania for some time.
Secondly, some countries provide better kind of climbing (alpine, big wall, aid - you choose!). Hence, some people with climbing experience might not be willing to stay in the UK for long time as the climbing might be limited?

Are there any foreigners here on the UKC? Why do you think climbing is not so popular among foreigners?

I am ill, curious and trying to distract myself from studying. Also, I know it's an useless thread and I might have done a mistake or two (or more)!
 Dan Arkle 11 Feb 2015
In reply to PPP:

I think your national crag may have been chipped?

UK trad climbing is great but I hesitate to recommend it to most people on a short trip, as the weather is often bad, and the local knowledge of how to make the best out of conditions is hard won.

Removed User 11 Feb 2015
In reply to PPP: