UKC

Grivel Tech Machine durability/idiot-proofness

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tricadam 19 Feb 2015
Thanks to Greg Boswell and Richard Bentley for their views on the Tech Machines (http://www.ukclimbing.com/forums/t.php?t=608814) Could they or others comment on how tough they think the tools are? Given that I weigh 90kg (may have eaten too many pies) I could do with something pretty bombproof for mixed work. The Fusions sound like a good option in that regard, while quite a few folk seem to have had problems with the Nomics. Given that I'm fairly new to all this, I reckon I'll make a few rookie errors in terms of over-torquing the tools, so extra toughness would be useful!

Currently climbing with Quarks which I'd plan to keep.
 ianstevens 19 Feb 2015
In reply to adamarchie:

> Currently climbing with Quarks

Why not just keep doing that and save £300?

cb294 19 Feb 2015
In reply to adamarchie:

I use the older Matrix techs, and weigh about 100kg in my undies. If the tech machines are anything like the same build quality you should be fine. Shoul I need a pair of tools with offset handles I will definitely stick with Grivel.

CB
 Greg Boswell 19 Feb 2015
In reply to adamarchie:

The Tech Machines are super durable! They are a T rated tool, therefore every aspect of the tool is rated to 400kg's of force. Regardless of your weight or mine, I have put these tools well and truly through there paces and they have come out on top! I have even had them in a vice to test certain things with pulleys, and they are well and truly bombproof! The pick is one of the best and well crafted blades on the market and you would need to be doing something seriously wrong if you made this thing of beauty default.

I would highly recommend the tool to anyone wanting a good all round axe and peace of mind.

I hope this helps and feel free to message me personally if you want any further info or advice.

Greg
Climber Phil 19 Feb 2015