UKC

500m Rowing times

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 wushu 01 Apr 2015
I've recently started a rowing challenge at my gym, the challenge is basically row 500m as fast as you can.

On my first go I managed a 1:38 with the resistance set to 10.

Today I managed a 1:33, the resistance was again set to 10.

My question is, is this a good time? Unfortunately, I don't have a point of reference since only 1 other person is currently trying the challenge!

If it helps I'm 6ft 3 and 82kgs.

These are my first ever attempts at rowing, so I'm quite unsure!
 stewieatb 01 Apr 2015
In reply to wushu:

Hey mate

I'm a coxswain and rowing coach in my spare time, that's a decent time for the first couple of tries. Make sure your technique is really good - lots of good youtube videos on this, PTs in gyms tend to be utterly useless. Rowing with good technique is excellent for your back and core, rowing with bad technique is very likely to result in a back injury. Remember it's a first and foremost a leg workout, keep the upper body still (but the core engaged) in the early part of the drive.

Also, please, don't set the resistance to 10. It doesn't actually make the rowing any harder in a cardiac or muscular sense, it just means the loads are higher and you're more likely to get injured. If you think it's cheating, try a 500m piece at a high resistance (8-10) and a 500m piece at a resistance of 1. I can almost guarantee you'll go slower with the resistance set to 1! For a guy your size set it to about 4-5.

Cheers
Stewie
OP wushu 01 Apr 2015
In reply to stewieatb:

That's fantastic advice! Thank you!

As I mentioned I'm unsure on the correct procedures. I just assumed setting it to 10 was correct, so thank you for the tip.
 JayPee630 01 Apr 2015
In reply to wushu:

Check the Concept2 website, they have a list of records and workouts.
In reply to stewieatb: