UKC

First Ultra

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 steveej 22 Apr 2015
Just signed up for my first Ultra in 6 weeks time.

40 miles, 2,800M Vertical, 14hr cut off.

Currently up to 20 reasonably hilly miles non stop on empty stomach and legs not sore the next day.

I think (and I'm no expert) but the closest thing I will have done to this is the Welsh 14 peaks (30 miles and 14 hours walking).

Any hints and tips on food and strategy for the day? what is the maximum milage I should be aiming for in Training?

I'm a bit scared. Theres a big difference between 20 and 40 miles.

Cheers
Ferret 22 Apr 2015
In reply to steveej:

I'm no expert and there will be a wide range of views on this but...

6 weeks - not long to go.... you have 3, perhaps 4 training weeks before tapering down. In those weeks I'd probably do a 22, a 24 and a 26, keeping the same amount or a little more hill each time - how much hill are you doing on your 20 miler? Try to be getting somewhere between 1500 and 2000 of ascent if you can. Then perhaps you might fit in a 30 miler, perhaps over easier terrain and take that one very slow, effectively at the speed you aim to do your 40 at. Practice eating and hydration on that one and aim for time on feet and being in good condition at the end of it. That one will help by giving time on feet, getting used to appropriate pacing and will mentally give you the boost of 'I've done 75% of the distance'.....

Mid weeks aim for a gently recovery run, short easy and lots of stretching, one longer easy run and one speed session of some kind. Make your gently run gently and your speed run hard... don't let them fall into a mid ground of too fast for recovery/too slow for speed as you don't get the benefits you are aiming for then.