UKC

Action can filming tips

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The Lemming 30 May 2015
I am no expert by any stretch of the imagination when it comes to film and photography, however one or two professionals and gifted a matures lurk this site.

Would any of you be willing to share any filming tips to help me create epic movies with my two teeny tiny action cams?
 HeMa 30 May 2015
In reply to The Lemming:

be creative where you place 'em. pure helmet/chest shots are actually rather boring. and also, try to get some "normal" cam material as well.
 Bob 30 May 2015
In reply to The Lemming:
The rule of threes:

every story has a beginning, a middle and an end, usually in that order. (Think of the typical news programme - tell 'em what you are going to tell 'em; tell 'em; tell 'em what you've told 'em. )

Get three different angles of things: a wide shot; a medium shot and a close up. Mix these up in editing.

Use a tripod or some sort of support even if it's just perching the camera on a rock.

Don't follow the action around, it makes you look like some sort of paparazzi, let the action come in and out of shot.

Think about continuity: if person A is looking to the left talking to person B then the shots of person B should have them facing right, that sort of thing.

Get additional material, things like eating grub in the cafe; driving to the crag; gearing up.

When editing keep each shot fairly short, 3 - 5 seconds unless the scene really does deserve more. That doesn't mean you just shoot 5 second clips but that you edit them that way. Cut between shots on the beat of the music or every other beat. Mix them up so change on one-two-one-two beats. Don't use cheesy transitions between shots: either a straight cut or fade to black/white.

Keep the whole thing as short as possible, maybe the length of one music track - I got the three days of mountain biking in to six minutes.
Post edited at 22:35
OP The Lemming 31 May 2015
In reply to Bob: