UKC

Climbing technique?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Ha77on 12 Jul 2015
Hi all,

I've been climbing now for a few months now and I feel really passionate about the sport! I was hoping to read some decent books on climbing technique (slab, vert, overhangs and crag climbing) while at my shitty day job and was hoping some of you guys 'n'gals could give me some recommendations?

Thanks.
 PPP 12 Jul 2015
In reply to Ha77on:

"The Self Coached Climber" and "9 out of 10 mistakes climbers do" might be the best bids. You would probably benefit from the latter one a little bit later on.
 flash13 12 Jul 2015
In reply to Ha77on:

Reading in a book is all well and good but unless you film yourself how can you know your doing it right?

I would say you have a couple of options, either get yourself coached on a few sessions it will make a massive difference in the long run but at a bit of expense or make friends with someone who looks like they climb well and watch how they do it.

Technique is the right way to go in the beginning!

Good luck.
 slab_happy 13 Jul 2015
In reply to PPP:

Seconding "The Self-Coached Climber" in particular -- there's some really good stuff on movement technique.

There's also the Neil Gresham Masterclass Part 1, which I got a lot out of when I was starting. Okay, it's a film not a book, but maybe you could buy a download and watch it sneakily on a smartphone ...

http://steepedge.com/categories/instructional/masterclass-part-1-technique-...

N.B. Both of these have big sections on training -- make yourself ignore these until you've been climbing for at least a year or so! Your tendons need time to get stronger before you load any extra stresses onto them, and you'll get the best results right now from just climbing a lot concentrating on learning good technique.
 climbwhenready 13 Jul 2015
In reply to Ha77on: