UKC

IFS report on budget effect on student finance

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Offwidth 23 Jul 2015
The latest IFS view:

http://www.ifs.org.uk/publications/7905

Follows on from budget discussion on the effects on poorer students on the now locked thread:

https://www.ukclimbing.com/forums/t.php?t=619868&v=1#x8088914
 JoshOvki 23 Jul 2015
In reply to Offwidth:

Frick me!

"The poorest 40% of students going to university in England will now graduate with debts of up to £53,000 from a three-year course", I had debts of £17,000 when I graduated (in 2012), which I thought was alot. I know my degree would not have been worth £53,000.
In reply to Offwidth:

Its all a bit sickening really
 RockAngel 23 Jul 2015
In reply to Offwidth:
I know it's put my son off from chasing his dreams. It'll also prevent him from getting a job in the industry that he wants to work in with no degree. There's no way I can afford to pay for it & he doesn't like the idea of that massive debt hanging over his head for the rest of life.
 girlymonkey 23 Jul 2015
In reply to RockAngel:

What is he wanting to do? Is there no apprenticeship route?
 john arran 23 Jul 2015
In reply to willworkforfoodjnr:

> Its all a bit sickening really

This is what people voted for, folks.
 wintertree 23 Jul 2015
In reply to RockAngel:

> There's no way I can afford to pay for it & he doesn't like the idea of that massive debt hanging over his head for the rest of life.

Perhaps you and he should read what Martin Lewis (of "Money Saving Expert" fame) has to say about them.

http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/students/student-loans-tuition-fees-change...

If I was 17 again and was considering going to university, knowing what I know now, I would fear no debt hanging over my head.