UKC

TV recording question

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 balmybaldwin 24 Jul 2015

Why do all TV recorders only record one channel at a time? (I know sky+ and TiVo do but they have multiple decoders)

Why do they not record the input from the aerial/dish so that when you play back it then re decodes the signal? This would mean you could record an hour, and later watch any of the channels on in that hour.
Post edited at 11:04
 Andy DB 24 Jul 2015
In reply to balmybaldwin:

Because recording one program in a decoded and compressed data format lakes up relatively little space. Where as recording all un-decoded data over all transmission frequencies would take up huge amounts of memory.
 Greasy Prusiks 24 Jul 2015

I'm no expert but surely an hour of however many hundreds of channels there are would fill up most recorders? An online TV seems the way to go to me.
 graeme jackson 24 Jul 2015

My folks have a digital recorder that records two programmes at once. No idea what make it is.
Removed User 24 Jul 2015

Weird, cause I'm downloading 5 video files as we speak with no problem. Maybe look at downloading what you want to watch rather than recording it from a tv.
 The Lemming 24 Jul 2015
In reply to graeme jackson:

> My folks have a digital recorder that records two programmes at once. No idea what make it is.

My computer has a TV card inside it where I can either record two TV shows at once or record one TV show and watch a different channel at the same time. All this is done using Microsoft's own Windows Media Center.

My TV card is no longer able to buy however here's a link to something similar.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/PCI-E-DVB-T2-Definition-Digital-Receiver/dp/B005JTA...

Andy DB is spot on.