UKC

Why can't companies say sorry?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ByEek 17 Aug 2015
It is 30 years since the Manchester air disaster

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-manchester-33880674

Could someone tell me why companies can't say sorry? Surely liabilities have been settled now so it is a simple of simple common courtesy, respect and compassion.
 d_b 17 Aug 2015
In reply to ByEek:

You could equally well ask why people feel the need to demand apologies decades after the fact from people who had no involvement in the event.
 Trangia 17 Aug 2015
In reply to ByEek:

> Surely liabilities have been settled

I am not a lawyer, but are they ever fully settled? Possibly any admission might re-open a legal door?

Also companies are just legal entities, so isn't an apology from an inanimate organisation meaningless? It's the human beings who made the mistakes who need to apologise, but even that might be unfair on individuals where the mistakes are a result of a chain of wrong decisions made by numerous people often without their fully realising the implications at the time they made them and without the benefit of hindsight?

It's a terribly difficult area, and whilst outwardly the company may appear to be lacking decency and compassion, the individuals responsible could go through a life time of self reproach and mental agony because of their (human) failings.
J1234 17 Aug 2015
In reply to ByEek:
Why do you want the "company" to say sorry, it was a person making decisions and making errors, not "the company" you may as well ask the plane or the petrol to apologise. It is people who should apologise.
Post edited at 09:55
OP ByEek 17 Aug 2015
In reply to Que Sera Sera:

But a company is only a group of individuals. Issuing an apology is a way for that group of individuals to collectively recognise that an injustice was done.
 Dave Garnett 17 Aug 2015
In reply to ByEek:

> But a company is only a group of individuals.