UKC

Grit

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
carlo 14 Sep 2015
After many years of climbing in Wales, where I've always lived, Scotland, Spain & the Alps I now, after I've stopped, want to visit the Peak to finally see what "all the fuss is about" for myself. I obviously don't know the area but would appreciate some advice on where to go on a 2 day visit. I'll be up that way in November, going to Holmfirth to see Walter Trout in the Picturedrome so any advice would be appreciated.
 ashtond6 14 Sep 2015
In reply to carlo:

I would say the stuff around Holmfirth isn't the best
What kind of grades?

Can't go wrong with a trip to Almscliff then Stanage for a taster
 Martin Bennett 14 Sep 2015
In reply to carlo:
Thanks for the tip about Walter Trout - if he's touring I'll look up other venues, tho Holmfirth is within reach.
On that other minor topic you might be well advised to stop in Hathersage - I'm no expert but it seems to be pretty central to all the attractions (?) and has decent pubs.
Mind you looking at your list of where you've climbed and extrapolating where you haven't, you'd be better advised to spend a couple of days (or lifetimes) in The Lakes!
Post edited at 12:14
carlo 14 Sep 2015
In reply to Martin Bennett:

I don't want to climb, I've had to give up. I just want to visit & have a close look @the classics. Like the routes I've seen on vids like Hard Grit.
 ashtond6 14 Sep 2015
In reply to carlo:

go for a walk at Burbage South & Millstone then i'd say
 philipivan 14 Sep 2015
In reply to carlo:

Start at Curbar, Froggat, Millstone, Burbage and Stanage. Probably walkable in a long day and you could see a lot of grit classics!
carlo 14 Sep 2015
In reply to philipivan: