UKC

feeling a little depressed

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Kirill 18 Sep 2015

Hello

I have been climbing for about 9-10 years and I have become increasingly frustrated with my inability to improve at it. I currently boulder indoors at 5+ and very occasionally 6a. This is pretty much the same level of difficulty I could climb when I bought my first pair of climbing shoes. I do only slightly better on routes: 6b or 6b+ when feeling strong. Why am I writing this? I want to find out whether there are people like me and how they coped with it. I am taking this very badly at the moment.
Post edited at 15:11
 Stuart S 18 Sep 2015
In reply to Kirill:

I have climbed for about 30 years and for a long time in the middle of that, I was on a performance plateau like you. What got me off of it was a) booking a couple of coaching sessions and getting my climbing strengths and weaknesses properly examined, and given pointers in what I needed to work on to improve, and b) actually trying to train for climbing (i.e. structuring my sessions), rather than simply turning up a the wall and doing a pile of boulder problems or climbing a few routes.

Have a hunt on here for articles on training for climbing (there are loads) and if you don't mind spending some money, I can thoroughly recommend using a coach as a way of really kick-starting that improvement curve.
 RockSteady 18 Sep 2015
In reply to Kirill:

This reminds me of an old but excellent article by shark - http://www.ukclimbing.com/articles/page.php?id=856

The question is, do you want to do things differently to improve? Do you want to do sessions that aren't like the fun climbing sessions that you're used to and focus on elements of climbing that you're not so good at?

If so, then you will have plenty of strategies to use to improve (structured sessions being a good one) and your years of climbing behind you will definitely be a good foundation on which to build.