UKC

Some question for those who regularly teach beginners trad

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Offwidth 21 Sep 2015
So for the experienced in this area how long have you been teaching beginners trad, what have you lost gear wise and finally if your beginner gets your gear stuck whould you consider charging them for part or all of it?
 Trangia 21 Sep 2015
In reply to Offwidth:

> So for the experienced in this area how long have you been teaching beginners trad

About 50 years. No formal qualifications, but from time to time have taken total beginners on trad

> what have you lost gear wise

A couple of nuts, one cam, a dropped sling and krab into the sea

> and finally if your beginner gets your gear stuck would you consider charging them for part or all of it?

No. My decision to take them climbing. I know they are inexperienced - so lost gear is possibility that I accept, otherwise I wouldn't do it.

GrahamD 21 Sep 2015
In reply to Offwidth:

Something over 20 years. I'm struggling to remember the last gear I lost that I couldn't get back by abseil. The hardest part is usually realising that any gear is missing at all.

I almost certainly have a higher attrition rate when climbing with regular partners, with whom the agreement is 50:50 unless its complete muppetry that caused it.

If its down to their thoughtlessness rather than inexperience I wouldn't have a problem asking a beginner for a contributuion to lost gear.
cb294 21 Sep 2015
In reply to Offwidth:

20ish years, lots but mainly due to mix ups when packing up for the hike out, and no.

I did accept a beginners offer of one of his brand new ice screws when he dropped one of mine down the Monte Rosa East face (we came up the other side...). He was earning way more than I did at the time (or even still do), and probably enjoyed the excuse of having to go shopping for more gear.

CB
 Andy Long 21 Sep 2015
In reply to Offwidth:

40+ years

2 or 3 nuts

No

bpmclimb 21 Sep 2015