UKC

Electric cooker

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Looking at getting a new cooker. There is currently a gas cooker in but we are wanting an electric possibly with gas hobs.

There is no cooker wiring point in. How much of a job is getting a point put in. To add an extra problem, our fuse box is one that still uses fuse wire. We were looking at changing that at some point... will we have to do it now for a sparky to be willing to wire in the cooker?
 Hat Dude 26 Nov 2015
In reply to idiotproof (Buxton MC):

We have a cooker with a gas hob & electric oven, I'm fairly sure that the oven only has a 13amp plug; not at home so can't check.
 toad 26 Nov 2015
In reply to Hat Dude:

so long as you only have a single oven, I think they come on a 13amp fuse, my old cooker certainly did. I think as soon as you add a double /larger oven, it needs a wiring in point - when I had a built in one as part of a kitchen refit, the sparky did this, but i'm no electrician. Incidentally, he also put a new consumer unit in as well. Don't know if this was a requirement as we asked for it
In reply to Hat Dude:
Thanks but the one we are looking at has to be hard wired as it is over 13amp as its a double oven. The girlfriend also wants induction hobs but I'm not convinced as have always had gas
Post edited at 10:56
 whenry 26 Nov 2015

Not an electrician, but have done some renovation work. As I understand it, if you add a socket or hardwire something like a cooker, your wiring has to comply with current regulations, which means that you need a new circuit box with RCDs. If your fuse box is that old school, I'd seriously consider getting the house rewired.

We've got induction hobs at work, and having been sceptical, I'm impressed by them. Super quick and very efficient.
 gethin_allen 26 Nov 2015

I'm not an electrician but I've been reading the regs to see what I can and can't do in my house.