UKC

Isle of Wight: American looking for Info!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
aNolte 15 Jan 2016
Hi everyone,

I will be visiting the Isle of Wight to visit family, but ill have a free day on June 2nd that I would like to climb on. I have a couple of questions about the climbing there. I have looked at the guidebooks on this website, but any additional information would be helpful!

1) Since I'll be flying I won't be bringing my trad rack, Is it possible to easily set up top-ropes on a handful of routes to justify a day a climbing? Or is there a climbing guide service that could take me out for a day of climbing?
2) Or is anyone looking for a climbing partner for June 2nd? I've been climbing for 3-4 years, with a hardest redpoint of 5.12c (I think this translates to 7b+), and I am comfortable lead belaying, as well as having multi-pitch experience, but I don't have any experience climbing on chalk outcrops or climbing sea cliffs.

Thanks in advance!
Adam
 Kevster 15 Jan 2016
In reply to aNolte:
Hi,
The Isle of white is best known for its Chalk cliffs - which either a strong stomach for dubious gear or ice axes and crampons are generally required. Skeleton ridge is a very memorable outing along the famous needles and at a grade which doesn't require super hero status.

Close by on the mainland is swanage and further on portland. Both have bolted climbing, with swanage also having some excellent trad fun to boot.

I'd suggest bolts for a day - its easier to find partners and requires less faith in strangers on what can be committing sea cliffs. You could just go to one of the popular crags and ask around. I believe there are people who would guide for a day, but i dont know any personally who are in that area.

There are areas where top ropes can be set up without leading, but you'll have most fun on better routes with leading.

Be aware that some of the trad areas (and a few bolted areas) will be bird banned in June.

Have fun! Enjoy.