UKC

Wood Identification

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Im a novice wood chopper having installed a nice woodburner about 18 months ago. I dont pay for wood as I seem to have a knack for picking it up for free by having a tree surgeon across the road who gives me excess logs (in exchange for a drink). I am also on constant lookout for building developments and wood thinning where I always ask permission and seem to get loads of free logs which I bring home, chop, stack and store for the winter. I never do this without permission and its amazing what you can get by being polite and asking nicely.

Ive turned into a wood nerd and must have collected a good few tonnes over the last 6 months including ash, oak, birch, beech and sycamore.

There is a small wood near where I live which had some road fronted trees overhanging a path which were slowly dying and so there were some professionals cutting it down for safety reasons and I managed to acquire about a tonne of it as they couldnt move the whole amount so they let me have the remainder. Thing is, i dont know what type it is. They are medium in size, a very rough bark and are extremely dense. Moisture content isnt excessive when cut. They dont have lots of large limbs but are very difficult to split as they have lot of small braches which make the trunk quite knotty, are quite slim even when tall and the older dead trees seem to attract a lot of woodworm. You can see some of them in the pictures.

I have posted the links to the pictures of a tree which has been untouched as this isnt overhanging. The leaves arent there yet but they are just about to flower as you can see. Id be really keen to know what they are and how good they are as firewood as I have split a load of it now and its seasoning nicely outside. I hope I havent wasted my time.

Thanks in advance.

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc84/RichieRambler/20160419_170717_resiz...