UKC

Advice / recommendations Stanage leads

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 3B48 14 May 2016
I'm seeking advice on well protected severes / hard severes at Stanage.
My lead head isn't good but I'm breaking into these grades as a lead, any suggestions?
I'm not too good at jamming either, but if it's well protected, I'll give it a go (as long as there's no hard unprotected start / rough landings at the start).
Thanks in advance.
 BnB 14 May 2016
In reply to Lobsbelow:

Black Hawk Hell Crack

Black Hawk Hell Crack (S 4a)

I think it's the best Severe in the Peak for cementing your leading. There is gear every inch of the way. And the climbing is challenging but reassuring (ie a ledge every 4ft) all the way up.
 d_b 14 May 2016
In reply to BnB:
Unless my memory deceives me it is a route that allows you to make good use of threads, which is always satisfying.
Post edited at 19:14
 JDC 14 May 2016
In reply to Lobsbelow:
Christmas Crack - Christmas Crack (HS 4a) - didn't think it was sustained at all (despite what guidebook says) and loads of gear. Lovely route!
OP 3B48 14 May 2016
In reply to James Coulson:

Oh crikey
I made a right mess of that last year with only one working leg. (Injury).
Maybe I should try it again now my left leg doesn't need picking up by my hands?
In reply to Lobsbelow:

Try Paradise Wall (HS 4b). It's a well protected route that's happily easier after the obvious crux.

T.
In reply to Lobsbelow:

Bit higher up but Hargreaves original is incredible!

Tons of gear and steady moves
 Ben07 15 May 2016
In reply to Euan McKendrick:

Bit of a weird choice I think.
Wouldn't say that's what's been asked for atall lol
 BnB 15 May 2016
In reply to Pursued by a bear:
> Try Paradise Wall (HS 4b). It's a well protected route that's happily easier after the obvious crux.

Great climb but borderline VS and not a route to try to get established as a Severe leader. Bishop's route is friendlier.