UKC

How best to open Old Port Bottles!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Dr.S at work 10 Jul 2016
I've come into some old bottles of port 1981,82,86 and a 1976 Madeira.

My vague recollection is that opening older bottles is fraught with risk - any advice from the UKC drinking massif ?
 SenzuBean 10 Jul 2016
In reply to Dr.S at work:

> My vague recollection is that opening older bottles is fraught with risk

You couldn't be more correct. It's very dangerous - for both the opener, and the bottle. You can send them to me, I'm an expert at opening them (free of charge).

gribble 10 Jul 2016

This may work...
http://imgur.com/gallery/D9drg6K
 nightclimber 10 Jul 2016

Use a long corkscrew and try to remove the cork entirely. If this part fails and the cork breaks into pieces or pushes into the bottle, you can push the remainder of the cork into the bottle. Strain through muslin into a decanter. Drink.
OP Dr.S at work 10 Jul 2016
In reply to gribble:

> This may work...

Do you need to strain it through muslin after that?
 Lord_ash2000 10 Jul 2016

Try this youtube.com/watch?v=8p0-gJF65q8& seems pretty effective and cool.
OP Dr.S at work 10 Jul 2016
In reply to Lord_ash2000:

Looks fun, just need to rig up some metal tongs to heat...
 EddInaBox 10 Jul 2016
In reply to Lord_ash2000:

Basically the same way:
youtube.com/watch?v=YcqVwMvGQtU&
 Morty 10 Jul 2016

> I've come into some old bottles of port

I wouldn't want to drink them after that...

kevin stephens 10 Jul 2016
In reply to Morty:
It looks like there may be a lot of very old vintage port bottles opened tonight!
 aln 10 Jul 2016

I once tried to open a bottle of champagne using the big knife to chop below the top of the cork method. I missed and cut off the top of the bottle with the cork intact. Wait a minute, is that what was supposed to happen?
 jcw 10 Jul 2016