UKC

Dental injuries whilst climbing.......anyone ever had one??

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 andy rao 15 Jul 2016
Someone recently asked me for a gum shield to wear whilst climbing ( I am a dentist )

I have never felt the need to wear a gum shield myself whilst climbing, and never heard of anyone else damaging their teeth whilst sport climbing (though I've heard of axes causing a few injuries whilst mixed/ice climbing)

Opinions and experiences welcome......thanks
 sanguine 15 Jul 2016
In reply to andy rao:

My ice tool popped out just in front of my face and I got a chipped tooth and a scar on my lip for it, so the ice climbing thing is verifiable. Learned a lesson that day - not to wear a gum shield mind, just to keep my face away from sharp metallic objects whose trajectories are potentially hazardous
 John Kelly 15 Jul 2016
In reply to andy rao:

Leader hanging on ropes 10m up VS, rope under tension, lowest wire was imparting slight bend in rope, runner fires out, hits and shatters my eye tooth, removed next day
 deacondeacon 15 Jul 2016
In reply to andy rao:

Im always holding gear in my mouth when climbing or biting the rope when pulling up slack. It'd be a right pain in the arse with a gumshield in.
 LucaC 15 Jul 2016
In reply to andy rao:

A friend of one of my climbing partners fell off leading a sport route in Thiland, while holding a loop of slack in his mouth, and lost both his front teeth. Ouch.

I've also chipped a tooth biting the shaft of an axe while swapping hands mixed climbing, which I must say was a dumb thing to do.
 escostar 15 Jul 2016
In reply to LJC:
A dentist suggested I should wear one whilst climbing because I tend to clench my jaw when focusing or concentrating.

Didn't take him up on the offer.
Post edited at 08:02
 EddInaBox 15 Jul 2016
In reply to deacondeacon:

> ...It'd be a right pain in the arse with a gumshield in.