UKC

Is outdoor climbing becoming less popular

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Paul16 21 Aug 2016

I've only been climbing 3-4 years but the people I speak to who have been climbing 20+ years keep saying how quiet crags are compared with 20 years ago. We're talking about "normal" days when people go climbing just for the pleasure of climbing regardless of how cold/windy/grey the day is - not sunny weekends at honeypots.

I'm just wondering if anyone else has noticed it and if so why?

I'm not prophetising the end of climbing before any trolls give their opinions.
Post edited at 19:32
In reply to GargoyleFeet:
No, don't think so but I think more climbers are going to selected honey pots rather than the esoteric crags and areas. (I've been climbing for 40+ years) Though there are more fair weather climbers.
Post edited at 19:41
 Fakey Rocks 21 Aug 2016
I reckon you mean...
Is outdoor climbing becoming unpopular?
Or you might mean the people who r into outdoor climbing r saying hey shall we start doing less of this,
Or hey this outdoor climbing is boll x shall we do more indoor stuff?

I've only just got back into climbing a few months ago, (gave up many yrs ago) and it has all been wall, just to get some sense of my ability, but im itching to hit outdoor crags, and so have been to visit 2 by myself just to check they r 4 real and still there.
But wow!
Wait a minute i said, that's real climbing, could it b scary?

Its where i started n sometimes it was, depending on how happy u r stepping into that zone where u know its at yr limit and a bit above gear, be it bolts or good or bad gear.

It does seem many are happy with the virtual crags, but that can be scary too for some.
Convenience of indoor walls for many with hectic lifestyles means real climbing still sturs probably a burning desire for some but is now just a less frequent treat.

I hope Im gonna make it a frequent one again tho,
Post edited at 19:50
 gazhbo 21 Aug 2016

No.