UKC

Best Single Exercise Kit

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Philip 19 Nov 2016
Dark evenings and no time for long round trip to a gym. Space for either a cross trainer or a rowinh machine. Going to spend 200-300 only.

Which would you get and why. I'm torn between foldable rowing machine (to make it tidy when not used) and a cross trainer. O was going to go rowing, but the cross trainer might but less stress on my back of its the only workout equipment.
 marsbar 19 Nov 2016
In reply to Philip:

I'm no expert, but as far as I know rowing should strengthen the core muscles and so should help keep your back safer.
 angry pirate 19 Nov 2016
In reply to Philip:

I have an arthritic back and plumped for an elliptical trainer which I use every other night. Not great for core but it is great cardio and superb for hill fitness as it has a high resistance setting.
For core work I just do general calisthenics, pull ups, fingerboard etc or even sometimes go climbing.
Fwiw, I find rowing machined really boring but I can jump on the cross trainer for an hour and watch a film. (I tend to watch horror as you don't really need to engage brain and they are more fun with an elevated heart rate)
 Bootrock 19 Nov 2016
In reply to marsbar:
Depends entirely on your rowing technique. But effectively yes. If you are concerned about your back then look for a few simple exercises to strengthen your core.

You would need a suitable and sound warm up before hand. And get your technique sorted. And learn to use the "levels" don't just rely on banging it to max chat and going mental on it.

Rowing is an awesome exercise though crack that 7 min mark and your doing well.

youtube.com/watch?v=oP6OR-G7AxM&

youtube.com/watch?v=zQ82RYIFLN8&

If you want something to just jump on and blast a few kms then maybe a xtrainer is the way for you.
Post edited at 10:57
OP Philip 19 Nov 2016